Tags

, , , , ,

Well I battled a with alternative endings today. And since I did this whole post is very stream of thought.

I had 4 chapters completely laid out. All they needed was basic editing to blend them into the prior chapters. But as I looked at them I realized that I had a problem with them.  I had a fairly DRAMA filled ending all written. But the ending I thought fit better had a more subtle narrative. It became societal in nature than centralized on one group. So that worked for me. Unfortunately I don’t know if it will work for readers.

I have doubts of course. What I doubt is will others ‘get it” because it differs so much from my normal reading material.

Let me explain that I LOVE URBAN FANTASY. I love the drama. I love the fast paced story telling. Unfortunately, (or perhaps fortunately) I am not writing an urban fantasy. Actually, I don’t think there is a genre that my novel falls easily into actually.

It is  speculative fiction perhaps? Which basically is a cop-out by myself in refusing to label the story as science fiction.  I don’t consider my science hard enough or used enough to put my story in that genre. After all the science is all possible according to logical leaps of the current scientific theories.

Which I admit is helped by setting the story so far in the future. After all we are not talking 500 years from now. That would be like Shakespeare predicting space travel. No I am setting my story 1000 years from now, so we have William the Conqueror predicting drone missiles and the oil wars.

In the end I am writing about what all writers write about: universal conditions. Family, ambition, societal contracts, race, otherness all are key points in my story. I don’t have any answers to the problems that arises from when these conflict, but what I can do is present them in a world that is not the one we all live in.

But to leave you this morning…with a smile about “DRAMA’ or in this case “ACTING”

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/15476780″>Acting school</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/user4867276″>Gregory Mate</a> on <a href=”https://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

 

In the end, I am telling a story. The story I have written, one I want to be the best it can be. And I think that is the subtler ending.

 

