Tags

First let me state I was lucky enough to win a giveaway by Naili Singh for an ARC of this Novel which drew me back into the world of the Angels and Vampires and the Guild Hunters.

This novel can be read as a standalone, HOWEVER I think most people would be lost if they did so. It has been a while since I read the earlier novels in this series, and I found myself going back and rereading them before reading this one simply because I needed to get the nuances of the current situations within the series before tackling it. So Yes you can read it without the others, if you just limit yourself to the romance, however you would do yourself and the story a disservice if you did so. Like other novels by Nalini Singh there is the “book arch” which is contained within the novel, and then there is the Story ARCH which is sweeping and epic in scope. This is a rich world of nuances and politics. In this particular novel, the driving forces behind the action originate with a prophecy and a vow. The male protagonist, Nassir, searches for a sleeping Archangel because another Archangel Lijuan is searching for his sleeping place. So he goes to meet up with a scholar who has researched the Sleeping Archangel, Andromeda. She has secrets of her own. Secrets that revolve around a vow made centuries before and time to collect is drawing near. Getting to this point in the story takes the reader a mere 40 pages…but those pages draw you into the story. It was at that point that I realized I would be up all night reading the rest of the story. Wonderful characters, fantastic story telling, a romance, a tiger searching for his mate, a woman (angel) who can kick ass (and take names) what more do you want?

As a book within the Urban fantasy genre I give this novel a firm 5 stars. Singh does a wonderful job telling the story, and entertaining the reader with strong characters and forward moving plot.

